just imagine... (my presumptious crazy foolhardy too imaginative ideas for balancing...)

well, this is an idea for an entirely new mmorpg. i'm not a programmer though, and i don't know anyone, and i have no hacking skills, so my ideas will never be fruiticious. though, i've checked up on other things out there, because i'm getting really interested in starting gaming again after a 15 year hiatus. and i was blown away, by how far... the games haven't taken anything. nothing has really caught my interest again, except for uo.

anyway, i'll start with lumberjacks and woodcrafting. professions i love.

you should be able to gain 700 points into lumberjacking. the world will be as usual with 0 in the skill, but as you reach higher skills, you'll notice tree roots where you walk, take better steps not to hurt insects of ants or make any noise, find differences between an oak and an oak, see the trees and leaves in more colour and detail, start naming them, noticing tree fairies and talking to them, and seeing if a tree is sick enough that the fairy will allow you to cut it down without murdering you with their profound magic skills.

you should also be able to max out on a single stat. 200 strength should be required to wield a valorite axe. and every single skillpoint will play in with how the weapon will turn out in blacksmithing, and secondary skills like swordsmanship (how could you craft a slashing weapon without knowing anythingabout them?) and tertiary skills like forensic knowledge - just how was the wood acquired - from farming reapers - or high up on a mountain with fresh air and the best mycorrhiza nutricion?