Why do devs not ban hatred and ill behavior?

inalizinaliz Posts: 12
edited July 2022 in General Discussions
Hail!

I started playing UO a few years ago. I really enjoy the game. Although I have noticed a lot of issues with bugs and design choices. That's not a huge deal if the devs work on it. But, one glaring thing that stands out, especially on Atlantic. Everyone who plays there knows. People like "removed". this person is completely vitriolic in the chat. The other day I saw him just ranting on about how he's going to take a bunch of pills and down it with vodka and whiskey. Personally threatening people non stop. Chatting a bunch of IRL nonsense that is disturbing. Talking about killing people(not in game). Just spewing absolute garbage non stop. I noticed this when I first started playing. I was pretty surprised when I saw that this same exact person is still doing the same thing years later.

I've reported them multiple times over the years. I'm sure many more people have also done so. I can imagine that letting this go on constantly scares a lot of people away from the game. So why haven't they been banned? It can't be allowed by the games terms of service? Or at the very least they should be banned from chat/say. It's this type of behavior allowed that ruins the game growth and community. It's pretty mind blowing that this is something the devs let go on even though they have been reported so many times.
  1. Should players that spam with strange and hateful behavior nonstop be banned?12 votes
    1. Of course
      66.67%
    2. Nah, just let them be disgusting
      33.33%
Tagged:

Comments

• keven2002keven2002 Posts: 2,080
    That person in particular is well known for that behavior. He uses EJ accounts and has them banned pretty frequently actually. That's the thing with EJ accounts though; he can just keep making new ones and using the same name.