Completely new player seeks advice.

SillyturtleSillyturtle Posts: 5
edited March 2022 in General Discussions
Folks, I'm Turtle. G'day.

Known of UO for a very long time, never tried it. Played DAOC since 2001 and many other MMO's and I'm currently bored to death, so figured I would have a look at this one. Forums are decently active for an older game - so I made an account and subbed. Now I'm here for your help, if you don't mind.

I have no knowledge of the game outside of what I've heard over time. I know two things, that the game is skill based and you can basically design your own class which is pretty cool, and that if you PvP, you lose all your stuff. 

I don't know anything about classes, or end game content, but I have seen people mentioning on here that you can do dungeons and raids (I'm assuming end game content) solo with certain builds. I'd very much like to hear what you guys suggest for builds for new players like me. 

I don't know anything, but I am an experienced gamer and do pretty well at whatever I devote my time to - so don't worry about things being too complex for me - if it's strong, I'd love to know about it. Also, since I don't know anything about the classes, I have no opinions on what's good or bad, what's S tier and what's F tier - that's all gonna come from you guys, who know everything already. 

The only guidelines I'll put on your suggestions is that it has to be solo friendly, because I'm Australian and I expect to spend a lot of time on my own. I like farming sweet items, making currency and killing big nasties.

With that in mind, what do you reckon I should do regarding class?
What server do you think is a good idea?
Is there a difference between the game clients?

Note: After I've had a few replies, I'll probably follow up with a Poll with the suggestions and see what people think. Might make it fun for any other newcomers that might come along after me.

Comments

• Lord_FrodoLord_Frodo Posts: 2,210
    Welcome