Just starting out

Hi,

I am just starting out playing Ultima Online.

I downloaded the Classic UO Client, and I am wondering which shard to pick. I am from Europe, but I think Atlantic is the best shard to roll on, because of the population. Is this true?

Could someone also help me make a newbie friendly build just to make money starting out? 

Thanks

Comments

• RockRock Posts: 567
    edited March 2020
    Hi, and welcome to Ultima Online!

Before you choose Atlantic, how good is your connectivity there?  I know mine from USA to the European shards is mediocre at best.  Slow and dropped packets is an issue on its own, but compound that with the very high level of environmental updates your client gets due to population density, and it won't be pleasant.

To test, make a character on Atlantic.  Take a moongate to Malas/Luna and walk around the city on the road with all the vendors.  Admittedly this is a worst-case condition, but if you ever get involved in an event with lots of players, expect something similar.  I hope I'm wrong, and your connectivity with Atlantic will be great.  Otherwise start out on a European server.  I don't know which is the busiest, though.

Also, this is not a final decision you are making.  A paid account can have 6 characters on every server.    Even the Eternal Journey free account allows 2/server and can be upgraded to a full subscription any time.
    Rock (formerly Imperterritus VXt, Baja)
  • MelchiahMelchiah Posts: 42
    Come to Europa! We’re (mostly) very nice, and we can swear in 44 languages - or we’re learning to!
    There’s a daily meeting at West Brit Bank between 6-7 GMT to hang around and have a chat, ask questions, enjoy an ale, etc. 
    Make a char on both Atl and Eu and see which you prefer.
  • KirthagKirthag Posts: 541
    edited April 2020