Is a manaless warrior playable now?

RockRock Posts: 567
edited March 2018 in Skills and Stats
I started playing when the only magic was Magery. A warrior typically had a 7x GM build (700 was the overall skill cap, and 100 the cap for individual skills). Six of the skills were pretty-much boilerplate:

100: <weapon>, tactics
100: anatomy, healing
100: parry, resist

This left 100 points for some flexibility.  An archer, for example, might go 60 Lumberjacking + 40 Fletching so that he could source his own arrows and bolts. Or if he was patient and felt the need to Recall, 30 Lumberjacking + 30 Fletching + 40 magery.  "Tank mages" also marrying a mage build with a warrior one. For that, Anatomy and Healing would generally be replaced with Magery and Eval, with Meditation filling in the 7th slot. (Focus did not exist at the time).

Back to the now, how playable would that boilerplate be as a 6x 120 build? You're intelligence could be quite low. I think weapon special moves require between 20 to 40 mana, so one could get away with 30 Int and depend on int-bonus jewelry, etc to got to 40 or more.

Are runebooks charged with Recall scrolls be used by non-humans? With JOAT, humans have an effective magery of 20 even with 0 actual skill.  IIRC, the reason charged runebooks worked, depended on this JOAT benefit plus using a scroll lowered the magery requirements of a spell by 20. I'm guessing this has been changed now so that any race, even with no magery, can use charges in their spell books. (This question is a cheat I think, because in the really old days, rune books could not be charged. I cannot remember if charged runebooks came first, or JOAT-less elves.)
Rock (formerly Imperterritus VXt, Baja)

Comments

• DerajDeraj Posts: 85