Why UO would benefit from an expansion this/next yr

SaiahSaiah Posts: 5
edited July 2018 in General Discussions
Hello all,

I am relatively new to this game. I was an old school EQ gamer in '99 and never touched Ultima until literally 3 days ago.

I am in love with the depth, combat, adventuring and core systems that UO uses.

Something I wanted to mention is.. you guys haven't seen a UO expansion in over 3 years now. Is this because it has exchanged hands a few times? Are sub numbers low? (doesnt seem it)

Reason I ask.. if any Dev is reading this at all.. Do you notice a shift in the MMO industry happening? Theme-park MMO's are becoming a thing of the past as people get tired and bored of korean hack/slash or theme-park MMORPG's. People are looking for something more elaborate now.. more difficult and something that has much more depth and meaning. People are wanting that "more meaningful" mmo and a few have popped up like Pantheon, LoA and a few others. All of these are being backed by millions of dollars from people interested in changing the genre back to what it was once before.

UO has had this feeling people are looking for... under a hood of 1997 graphics... which people just ignore right away.

So I ask, Mr/Ms Dev.. why not take advantage of this timing? Release new content.. new things to fight.. new adventures.. New abilities.. new spells.. Don't have the funding? I'd gladly give a chunk of money towards your development (even though people DESPISE crowdfunding these days.. i think it has its good uses.. SOTA gave it the bad name.. not you guys ;) )

As a community, do you guys think an expansion could come? How do you feel about it?
  1. Should UO have an expansion?5 votes
    1. Yes! I'd back it with $ too!
      20.00%
    2. Yes!... just not crowdfunding
      40.00%
    3. No.. games dead.
      40.00%
Tagged:

Comments

• Petra_FydePetra_Fyde Posts: 1,321